Rebels Review: S3E2 “The Holocrons of Fate”

Standard

rebels-logo-big

Lewis: So after an interesting, but kind of middling season premiere, Star Wars Rebels brings back an old foe/friend for the second episode “The Holocrons of Fate”
What did you think?

Ben: I liked this episode, we got to see a lot of development in the relationships between Maul, Ezra and Kanan.

Lewis: Ezra and Kanan finally managed to break through the distance that had grown between them since the end of season 2, although I’m not entirely sure it’ll last very long…

Ben: Yes it still seems a bit uneasy; Kanan has changed his perspective since his blinding while Ezra has begun to depend more on his ‘saber and aggression. I think we can expect to see further strain on the relationship.

144266_16141-e1475336571207

Lewis: Although Kanan used to be like that too to an extent… I don’t know, it just seems like it was all healed too quickly for it to last.

Ben: I think that is where the tension rises from- They have both become very different people.

Lewis: Now I guess Kanan has to guide Ezra towards becoming like him, before he goes down a different path. Speaking of different people, how about the Bendu though? He seems like more of a benevolent creature now.

Ben: He is an interesting guide for the two of them to have.

Lewis: I’m liking him more and more, he’s sort of a Yoda character but dare I say a little more interesting because of his nature?

Ben: He is a grey Yoda, and like we said last week, the Bendu scenes are not action packed but the character and his nature makes his scene some of the most interesting.

144266_16148-900x506

Lewis: Mmmmm, I hope they do a lot more with his character. I particularly liked the moment when Kanan takes Ezra’s ‘saber away before he goes in the cave, and Bendu is confused as to why- It was a nice call back to Empire, and it showed, again, how differently the Bendu thinks compared to other characters we’re familiar with. Also, I take back what I said, he’s not more interesting than Yoda, I don’t know why I said that, but he’s a good character.

Ben: Shall we move forward and mention how rubbish the crew of the Ghost were this week?

Lewis: They were a little lacking… It felt like the only reason they were there was to progress the plot for Kanan and Ezra.

Ben: It was a very force-user heavy episode, but I’m sure they will get their chance to be in the spotlight.

Lewis: Well it looks like Sabine will next episode, and Hera has her episode coming up too.

Ben: One thing this episode did was show how powerful Maul is; following the escape attempt he recaptured the crew without breaking sweat.

Lewis: I liked that part, but it felt as though the Ghost crew would be a little harder to recapture than they were. Anyway, Maul was very impressive this episode I wonder when we’ll see him again?

SABINE, ZEB, HERA, DARTH MAUL

Ben: I reckon he will appear now and again, I expected this episode to be the first part of two to be honest.

Lewis: Same here. Until the last five minutes I thought it would be a two-parter, which I suppose is why the last act felt a little rushed. I guess if we’re talking about Maul reappearing later in the show, should we move on to what he and Ezra saw in the vision?

Ben: Well I think it is pretty clear the two of the saw Tatooine and Obi-Wan.

Lewis: Well I thought that as well, and I do think that Maul meant Obi-Wan when he said “he lives”, but we don’t know whether they saw the same thing. And Maul said that he was looking for hope when he looked into the Holocrons, so would that mean Obi-Wan? I think they might both have seen Luke and Tatooine, hence the “hope” reference. Maybe Maul will go to Tatooine hoping to recruit Luke and instead find Obi-Wan protecting him?

Ben: Potentially, if they did see different things Maul may have seen his brother, although I am pretty sure Savage is dead.

Lewis: That’s definitely a possibility, but I feel like that would be a bit cheap considering that he seemed very dead… You could say the way Palpatine killed him was pretty… savage

 

Ben: I definitely feel that we are heading towards a show down between Obi Wan and Maul which would be really cool, however for it to fit into continuity Ezra and Kanan cannot be there.

Lewis: I would very much like to see that- finish the fight once and for all. Although Maul didn’t seem angry when he saw the vision, he seemed more excited/shocked So do you think he might feel like he and Obi-wan are sort of even now after Satine and he just wants to see him? Go for a pint? And I think they could work around Kanan and Ezra meeting Obi-Wan, but it would be difficult.

ilovedyou

Ben: Nah, I think Maul is going all out to kill him. Alternatively he could have figured out who Vader is and we could have a pretty cool Vader vs Maul fight. I mean they could work their way around the continuity, but they I think it would cheapen it with Kanan and Ezra just conveniently not being around.

Lewis: That would be pretty sweet, but I think the emotional pay-off would be greater with the Maul-Obi Wan showdown. Although that does scupper my plans in terms of the Boba Fett- Obi Wan movie I’ve been hoping for. And yeah I guess you’re right about it cheapening the story, but if Kanan and Ezra die eventually then there won’t be a problem…

Ben: I was thinking that- if they die or turn away from the Jedi order then you are right, there is no issue.

Lewis: It’d certainly be interesting to just see them give it all up- but I can’t see them doing that as the characters they are at the moment. Our good friend Pete reckons that Ezra’s rashness will lead to someone getting killed- possibly Hera- and then Kanan turning against him and them killing each other or something along those lines.

Ben: I am not sure about that, I know there are some grey tones in the show but at the end of the day it is a Kids show. One of the crew could get injured but I doubt one of them will die and I cannot see them (Kanan and Ezra) fighting to the death.

Lewis: I think it’s a little darker than you give it credit for, and honestly I could definitely see something along those lines happening- maybe not the fight to the death- but something like that.

Ben: I am yet to be convinced that something like that will happen.

anakin-vs-obi-wan

Lewis: We shall see, we shall see. Although I believe someone involved in the show stated that these three seasons follow a similar tone pattern to the original trilogy, which implies that last season was the darkest/most serious the show will ever get, and that this one will be a bit of a let-down and involve teddy bears of some sort (I kid). Anyway, I think we’ve rambled for long enough What did you reckon of the episode overall?

Ben: Please, no Ewoks. I liked it- level with the first episode. I appreciate the investigations into alternative areas on the spectrum of the force and the vision was interesting.

Lewis: Agreed, a solid episode! And I’m very much looking forward to the next one, “The Antilles Extraction”…

Ben: Does that mean what I think it means? Will we get to see Wedge make his Rebels debut?

Lewis: Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhh yeah.

Ben: Get in.

databank_wedgeantilles_01_169_b8185dce

 

 

Leave a Reply

