Game of Thrones s6E07: The Broken Man

Standard

A day late yet again (at least for the USA and those of us who prefer to add the spice of illegality to our Game of Thrones), here is our review-cap for Game of Thrones: The Broken Man. As usual there are a bunch of spoilers in this piece, so only read on if; A) You’ve seen the episode and forgotten it already, B) You haven’t seen it, can’t be bothered to watch it, and want to catch up via text for some reason, or C) You literally have nothing else to do.

thrones_logo1

Anyway, here we go.

Ben: Quite a few interesting things came up in this week’s episode…

Lewis: Hell yeah they did. He’s back!

Ben: The Hound.

ray-699x393

Lewis: The one and only.

Ben: Bloody love that guy. I also quite liked Ian Mcshane’s character.

Lewis: I know right? I was pretty annoyed that he was only in one episode, but I suppose it was some good motivation for the Hound.

Ben: Just to clarify – He died – yeah I was a bit worried he was losing his desire to kill anyone who crossed him. I pity the guys who killed all those people; the Hound means business.

Lewis: I suppose we should include that bit of information. I don’t really mind if he doesn’t want to kill anyone, but if this is what it takes to get him back in the action then I’m all for another revenge plot.

Ben: A bit a background: The Hound was found by Mcshane’s character as close to death as you can get following his fight with Brianne. Mcshane, who turned out to be a former soldier turned Septon, took The Hound in and fixed him up. Mcshane had a more liberal view on the gods making him a pretty likeable bloke, but as with all likeable characters in GoT he died, hung from the rafters of the church he was building by the Brotherhood without Banners. And now The Hound we love is back.

Lewis: Well I mean I’m sure most people reading this have seen the episode and know about that…

Ben: You should have been a bit clearer, just wasted five minutes thinking and typing that.

Lewis: Awfully sorry old chap. I’m just interested to see what he’s going to do now/who he’s going to interact with. He has to re-join the main plot right?

Ben: I am sure he will, he might even get involved with the events at Riverrun (nice segue).

Lewis: That’s true, and maybe he’ll meet Brienne again at the siege? What did you make of The Blackfish?

GOT607_101615_HS__DSC6633_1_.0.0

Ben: I’d want them to have a fight again and for the Hound to win, but then again I’d rather the good guys win overall. As for The Blackfish I actually quite like him, he seems like a pretty hard guy, but the battle hardened old warrior is pretty likeable in his own way. He had an interesting exchange with Jaime.

Lewis: Yes, and while I think the Hound will want revenge, Ian McShane’s character has hopefully convinced him that it’s not worth it, maybe they’ll reconcile?
Mmm, he definitely seems like a take-no-shit kinda guy… As for his exchange with Jamie, I really enjoyed that scene. We know the kind of guy he is and how he contrasts against Jamie’s personality now.

Ben: I doubt we’ll see any happy reconciliations. He appears to be one of those classic GoT grey characters that isn’t a saint but they make the show enjoyable. It should be a fairly enjoyable subplot away from the Starks and Kings Landing. Speaking of which, the formation of the Stark army hasn’t gone to plan has it?

Lewis: No not exactly… I’m a fan of Lady Mormont though, for a child actor she was pretty good, and it was a funny, if slightly saddening, scene. So they have a grand total of about 2200 men and women?

lyanna-mormont-game-of-thrones-the-broken-man

Ben: The entire sequence of asking and rejection was incredibly saddening, but I do agree that she is at another level compared to most child actors (even, dare I say it, compared to many of the other young actors within Game of Thrones itself). I think the North has reached its breaking point, there is only so much they can take.

Lewis: Well they may soon be receiving aid in the form of Littlefinger and the Knights of the Vale; I assume that’s who Sansa was writing to anyway? And maybe The Blackfish can offer some aid too?

Ben: Probably, but I think the Starks and Littlefinger will need to help the Blackfish before he can help them.

Lewis: They’re both in a bit of a poor situation, my prediction is Littlefinger will come and help, they’ll attack Winterfell, the Umbers will turn on the Boltons, then they’ll make their way down south to kill the Freys, rescue Edmure and help the Blackfish. Or they’ll all die trying. Who knows?

Ben: Maybe, once they get a bit more support with the arrival of the Vale, Northern Houses like the Glovers will come around? I mean, I would like things to happen that way but this is Game of Thrones not a Marvel Movie, things rarely go to plan.

Lewis: I don’t know, it feels different this season, and I’ve been trying to put it into words but I can’t quite put my finger on it. I don’t know whether it’s a different writing staff or what, but it feels more hopeful and fast-paced than it used to (which isn’t necessarily a good thing). But you’re probably right, it’s not going to go to plan. So apart from quickly mentioning the return of Bron (fuck yes!), shall we move to King’s Landing?

Ben: I see your point but from what I have read they are deliberately trying to pick up the pace of the series. I suppose we should move southwards, and it appears, as we thought, Margaery was playing the game all along.

4500

Lewis: Thankfully. I would’ve been annoyed if she wasn’t. I’m really hoping nothing bad happens to Olenna now; that would be a tragedy. As for Cersei, it looks like she’s on her own now…

Ben: Olenna was not mincing her words was she? She can’t die, but at the same time I want to see a fair amount of her; such a waste of her character if she stays hidden away in High garden.

Lewis: I know what you mean, but I’d rather her be hidden away in High Garden than killed in King’s Landing. Who knows, maybe we’ll get to see some of High Garden? I’d like that.

Ben: Olenna is no friend of the Lannisters. Perhaps the Tyrell’s could be persuaded to help the Starks?

check-out-next-week-s-game-of-thrones-promo-the-broken-man-996887

Lewis: That would be awesome, but if that could be the case I think it’s a long way off yet. Is it just Arya now then?

Ben: She was so confident walking the streets of Bravos, she was always going to be found by the Waif and she was.

news-arya-stabbed

Lewis: There’s definitely more to her actions than we’ve been led to think though. One of the more believable theories is that she was intentionally drawing out the Waif by wandering around spending money, and was wearing blood bags (supplied by her theatre friend) to feign being wounded, then her blood trail will lead the Waif to her where she’ll have Needle waiting.

Ben: I haven’t read that, but it does sound believable.

Lewis: I prefer that theory to them just writing her to be a fucking moron wandering around thinking she’s in no danger. Makes a lot more sense…

Ben: I suppose that is true. It will be interesting to see how the 4 different storylines play out and merge together.

Lewis: Indeed, we’re definitely getting close to some kind of alliance between houses. Before we finish, I just realised that we forgot about Theon and Yara stopping off for some sweet poontang.

yara-greyjoy

Ben: Yeah, Theon is now being pressured into drinking. Seems like they have taken their Uncles idea of selling their fleet to Dany then.

Lewis: I’m pretty happy about that, I think they’re a slightly better choice than their uncle… This was nice moment between Yara and Theon too, even if it was a little blunt.

Ben: Yeah, she was doing it because she wants her brother back.

Lewis: Indeed. Besides, if they do team up with Dany, Theon will have a pretty good support group in the Unsullied; they know a thing or two about not having penises.

Ben: I am sure he is looking forward to group therapy sessions with the Unsullied about their lack of a Johnson.

Lewis: Who wouldn’t? Well I guess that’s that for this week then?

Ben: I think we have covered everything.

Lewis: Awesome, bring on next week’s episode!

Leave a Reply

