Game of Thrones S6E06: Blood of My Blood

Standard

Apologies for the lack of a review-cap for episode 5, but I’m afraid that episode (despite being a pretty important one) will have to stay lost in the annals of time. However, we’re back now and ready to talk about last week’s episode, Blood of my Blood.

Spoilers lie ahead…

thrones_logo1

Lewis: Alright, alright, alright, shall we get this thing on the road?

Ben: I think we should. Where do you want to start, the end of last week’s episode or straight into the latest episode?

Lewis: I think a brief moment of silence for Hodor should be enough… RIP

Ben: It was pretty hard viewing, he held the door.

Lewis: While Bran, who is beginning to become a very dislikeable character, got away. But oh well, it’s done now.

Ben: Yeah, how many more people need to die for him to make a meaningful contribution? He got Max von Sydow killed too. Anyway, shall we move onto the latest episode and the return of a long forgotten character?

Lewis: Hell yeah, Benjen Stark is back. I’ve been waiting for this for a very, very long time

Ben: He’s back with some Dragon Glass stuck in his heart, and to be fair he is pretty badass now.

game-of-thrones-coldhands-book-club-blood-of-my-blood

Lewis: I’m just glad he’s not dead, although he looks a bit worse for wear. I’m interested to see where he takes Bran and (Meera?) now though, and just how important Bran actually is.

Ben: I think you would look worse for wear too if you had a fight with the Night King. He had better be important; enough people have died.

Lewis: Well Benjen Stark certainly seemed to think so, and I doubt he’d be wrong about that. So who shall we mention next?

Ben: Kings Landing, the Sparrows and the Lannisters? Or Sam going home?

Lewis: Let’s talk about Sam and his bitter old dad…

Ben: The worst dad in the world. Bit awkward round the dinner table wasn’t it?

-6x06-Blood-of-My-Blood-game-of-thrones-39651631-500-281

Lewis: It was, but Gilly showed him what’s what, and I really didn’t expect Sam to take that sword. So now the three people with Valaryian steel blades are Jon, Brienne and Sam, which is cool I guess.

Ben: She did indeed, and I was a bit surprised by him taking it too; it is just a shame Sam has no idea how to use the bloody thing.

Lewis: Haha! Maybe he’ll pass it onto someone who does? I just hope his dad doesn’t catch him now.

Ben: let’s hope he gets away, but knowing Game of Thrones his father will end up finding him.

Lewis: Probably, but we shall see I guess… We got a brief insight into what’s been going on with Waldo Frey at the moment too.

Ben: We know he is losing the River lands and Riverrun thanks to the work of the Black Fish, but he appears to have a few cards up his sleeve unfortunately.

Lewis: Indeed, and although I don’t know much about this Blackfish guy, if he’s against that son of a bitch Waldo Frey I’m happy for him. The bad news is that Jamie Lannister is about to come and kick his doors down.

Ben: He was in series 3 briefly; he seemed like an alright bloke. You never know, if he can hold out until a northern army reforms they might be able to get him out of trouble. Or maybe the Knights of the Vale will rock up and bail him out?

Lewis: I feel like Baelish will end up helping whoever looks like they’re going to win, which will hopefully be Blackfish’s forces, and then Jon and Sansa may actually have a chance of taking the north back.

Ben: Well in an interview Aiden Gillen said his character wasn’t going to be a bad guy in this series. But we shall have to wait and see, hopefully the good guys can get a win.

Lewis: Oh come on he’s always a bad guy, I doubt he can redeem himself now. It would be nice to finally see the Starks back on top again though.

Ben: Hey, don’t shoot the messenger, I am just telling you what I have read.

Lewis: Alright, alright I just don’t trust that guy. I don’t like what he’s about. We also had that business with the High Sparrow in King’s Landing.

game-of-thrones-season-6-episode-6-pic-01-620x360

Ben: Good old Tommin has been as wet as ever and has turned into one of the High Sparrow’s minions.

Lewis: Yes we have yet another Lannister sending the entire kingdom into a spiralling dive towards destruction I liked Jamie and Olenna’s plan, but they got played pretty nicely…

Ben: It was a nice idea but I could always see something like this happening.

Lewis: Despite how badly it went I’m sure Margaery has something up her sleeve, there’s no way she’s actually begun to believe in that religion. I think the High Sparrow will get a little too cocky now he’s won this battle.

Ben: It does look like she played the game to enable her to escape. Things are going well for the sparrows which generally means they are about to get a right good kicking.

Lewis: I look forward to it immensely… In other news, the Mother of Dragons gave yet another generic inspiring speech, which, to be honest, was a little pointless.

dany-use-blod-of-my-1024x576

Ben: Yeah, “look at me more generic Dothraki people that aren’t important. I can ride a dragon and am going to go across the sea and take the crown at some point in the not too distant future… maybe… probably… I’ll get round to it eventually”… that sums it up I think.

Lewis: I think that’s a good breakdown. Oh and I liked the little “You’d need a thousand ships to bring your army to Westeros” line, considering the fact that that was pretty much the number that Theon’s uncle planned to build… very convenient.

Ben: So we know what is going next in the not too distant future…. maybe… probably at some point.

Lewis: Yes, and if Danaerys teams up with the uncle, is she really a hero? Or will she become a villain?

Ben: An interesting question, I think she may become a Villain by association. Depends what uncle Greyjoy gets up to next I suppose.

Lewis: Yes, indeed it does. So I guess that just leaves us with Arya’s attack of conscience and decision to leave the House of Black and White? (Which I’ve been hoping for to be honest).

Ben: It was inevitable, she now just has to avoid the Faceless Man’s sidekick.

Lewis: Or stab her through the eye with Needle?

game-of-thrones-blood-of-my-blood-arya-stark

Ben: That would work, but would the Faceless Man then come after her? I doubt she could handle him.

Lewis: I’m sure that’s the way this whole thing will work out, but who knows, maybe she’ll get lucky? I think it’ll be much more interesting if it’s the Faceless Man after her.

Ben: I would be pretty scared for her well-being if I’m honest.

Lewis: But it’ll be fun though!

Ben: I’ll take your word for it. Anything else?

Lewis: No I’m pretty sure that’s about it.

Ben: Fantastic.

Lewis: Awesome, I guess we’ll see you all next week then for another Game of Thrones Review-Cap.

 

Leave a Reply

