Game of Thrones S6E03: Oathbreaker

Standard

Lewis: Welcome everyone to our review-cap of Game Thrones Season Six Episode Three: Oathbreaker, boy that’s a mouthful. Just as a warning, if you haven’t seen this particular episode yet, and you aren’t using this as a way to lazily catch-up, please read no further.

thrones_logo1

Spoilers Lie Ahead

Anyway, I need to remember what happened now…

Ben: I was just thinking that. I guess to start off we should talk about Danny reaching the Dothraki city and meeting up with all the other widows.

Lewis: Ah yeah, more boring filler for the Mother of Dragons. I know this is meant to add a little bit of tension to her story, but she’s obviously going to be rescued by Dario and Jorah, so what’s the point?

Ben: I agree there are so many other more interesting things going on almost everywhere else.

Lewis: It’s a shame really, but hopefully Danaerys’ story will kick off again soon. As well as her being held captive by a bunch of has-been-Kharl-wives, we saw a little of what’s to come for Tyrion, Varys and all her people in Meereen.

got6.3tyrion.0

Ben: I am enjoying the dynamic in Meereen without her. She can get on my nerves at times, and I think it was because of the constant dithering and desire to sort out Slavers Bay when in reality nobody cares about it.

Lewis: It is nice to see a different approach to the situation, and hopefully Tyrion will do a good enough job to convince her that she needs his help.

Ben: Hopefully. We also now know who is funding the Sons of the Harpy.

Lewis: Indeed, although I’m not really sure what they’re going to do about it… we’ll see in the next few episodes I guess. I suppose Arya is next on our list?

Tom-Wlaschiha-as-Jaqen-Hghar-Maisie-Williams-as-Arya-Stark-in-Game-of-Thrones-S5

Ben: I suppose she is; after completing her daredevil training she has her eyes back again.

Lewis: Yep! And while there were a couple more trials for her to go through, she got them back really quite quickly in the end.

Ben: I am surprised how easy it was, I know she got beaten up a fair bit but to go from blind to sighted within three episodes is incredibly fast; something must be about to kick off.

Lewis: Well they’ve said that after this season they have enough material for 13 more episodes, so they must be trying to move onto a lot of big events quickly. But anyway, I like the mystery behind what’s going on with Arya.

Ben: Things are happening that make it more interesting than her last time in the House. Where to next?

Lewis: I guess King’s Landing?

Ben: Makes sense, so Jaime and Cersi are getting on everyone’s nerves, trying to throw their weight around, and the High Sparrow had a heart to heart with Tommen.

Lewis: Well I actually think that their suggestion to work together with the Tyrells was a very sensible one, but it really is far too late to start asking for help from them… which is a shame. I’m really not liking what the High Sparrow is doing at the moment, he’s one sneaky little fuck.

Ben: I think it is the way they went about it. I like the way the whole small council just walks out on them; anything that weakens the Lannisters is good for me.

Lewis: Well at this point I think that their only hope is to unite, but I suppose they do deserve the shit they were given. I want to see more from Olenna Tyrell as well, she’s easily one of the best characters.

Ben: She is good, I think it is mainly the fact that she is one of the only people that gives Cersei what she deserves.

Lewis: She just doesn’t give a flying fuck about anything anyone thinks of her, which is awesome.

olenna

Ben: I was trying to say it in a more composed manner but you aren’t wrong.

Lewis: Fair enough, I kinda ruined that there. Was this the first reveal of Varys’ “little birds” too?

Ben: All of the orphans and poverty stricken kids of King’s Landing appear to have their uses.

Lewis: And now a bunch of them are on the Lannisters’ side… The events of King’s Landing are beginning to get a little more interesting now.

Ben: Lots of ears in lots of places listening for the Lannisters, but who are they going to target? The Sparrows?

Lewis: I would assume so, but I’m sure the Lannisters will want to be finding those two Sand Snakes as well. Anyway, moving North, I suppose the next group to talk about is the Boltons and their new alliance with the Umbers?

Ben: The whole of the North appear to be joining up as mercenaries for the Boltons. Unless Rickon and the Umbers have a plan in place which looks unlikely.

GAME-OF-THRONES_OATHBREAKER_Osha-Smalljon-Umber-Rickon-Stark

Lewis: Well the Umbers have always been loyal to house Stark, so I think that a plan to kill the Boltons might be more likely than we’d be led to believe, and if it coincides with Jon’s attack on Winterfell (which is obviously coming), they stand a good chance of taking back the North.

Ben: I certainly hope you are right.

Lewis: I think most people will want to see that creepy smile wiped from Ramsey’s face.

Ben: Nothing would give me greater pleasure

Lewis: He’s a great villain. Should we mention the reappearance of Sam and whatserface before moving onto Jon?

GoT-603-05-630x359

Ben: Oh yeah, very little happening on the boat; just Sam throwing his guts up. Now he is off to become a maester?

Lewis: To be honest I’d completely forgotten about them… which sort of says something about how interesting their story is. I guess it was nice to have an update though.

Ben: I completely forgot as well until you mentioned them. Nice to know they are alive.

Lewis: Another story line that I’m sure will mean something in the long run, but for now is a bit dull. Anyway, I guess we should move onto Jon?

Ben: He will probably discover a way to kill the Wight Walkers. Yes, let’s talk about moody, brought-back-from-the-dead Jon.

game_of_thrones_oathkeeper_review

Lewis: To be honest, I’d be pretty messed up in the head too if my “brothers” stabbed me repeatedly and then some witch brought me back from nothingness. Everyone got what they deserved though.

Ben: Yeah, our speculation about Oly was pointless in the end. He was hanged, and then Jon walked.

Lewis: Well I hoped he’d be hanged, and I have to say I gained some respect for Ser Alliser, at the least he stuck to his guns and did what he thought was right. Yep, Jon’s getting too old for this shit, so the question is, what’s he going to do now?

Ben: I suppose I have to give him credit for not faltering and trying to make a deal. I honestly have no idea, you would presume south, but we don’t know.

Lewis: I reckon Sansa and Brienne will arrive and tell him about Ramsey, which will then make him want to take back Winterfell and seek vengeance against Ramsey.

Ben: He doesn’t have much of an army though, we just have to hope that Sansa being with him would rally loyal Stark bannermen.

Lewis: I think it’ll be a case of a second war in the North scenario. He does have the Wildlings I guess, and maybe Theon will get the Greyjoys to help out.

Ben: Could the Wildlings and a few Greyjoy sailors take Winterfell? He needs the full support of the North, because if they are able to get rid of the Bolton’s they would have to deal with another onslaught from the south.

Lewis: I think that the Umbers will join them, and a few of the other houses will rally behind them too. Hey, this is all speculation, who knows what’ll actually go down.

Ben: Yeah, all just speculation. Well hopefully the writers know what is going on…

Lewis: I’m sure they do, they’re very good. But yeah, I guess that’s just about everything?

Ben: What about Bran’s vision?

Lewis: Oh crap yeah, I forgot about that. That was an awesome sword fight, and it looks like that old fan theory about Jon might be true after all…

Game-of-Thrones-603-4-600x337

Ben: It was good, we got to see a young Ned Stark on the ropes. For those of us that don’t know the theory (definitely not me) could you explain what the theory predicts?

Lewis: Well, if you (the reader) don’t want to know the fan theory, stop reading here. We’ll see you next week, and enjoy the newest episode.

If you don’t mind potential spoilers, read on, and join us in the magical land of speculation…

Ok, so the theory is that Jon, rather than being Ned’s bastard son, is in fact his nephew, son of Rhaegar Targaryen and Lyanna Stark, who we saw being guarded in the Tower of Joy this episode. The fan theory predicted that Ned, rather than just finding his sister dead, finds her son, and takes him as his own to protect him for his sister. This means that Jon is part Targaryen, and has a claim to the throne

Ben: So he could end up being the third Dragon-rider-person then… that would be an interesting development. Thank you for explaining that to everyone who didn’t know it (definitely not me because I knew it).

Lewis: Oh I know you knew it, Ben, don’t worry about that. And just to clarify, the second Dragon-rider-person would be Tyrion if the theories turn out to be true. Things will be getting very interesting very soon… Well, I guess we’ll leave it there then?

Ben: I think that’s a good spot, there should be a lot going on in the next few episodes.

 

 

Leave a Reply

