Terminator Genisys: “Bite me”

Standard

Combinedpic

*SPOILERS*

Ben: So, Terminator Genisys

terminator-genisys-logo

Lewis: Yes, Terminator Genisys. To put it bluntly, I was pretty underwhelmed by it.

Ben: Yeah it wasn’t great, but was it as bad as everyone else seems to have said it was?

Lewis: Well I’m kinda torn as to how bad it actually was… It was a pretty bad film, and it shouldn’t have been made to be honest (the Terminator franchise has already suffered enough), but I did find myself enjoying it at times.

Ben: I agree with that. It definitely shouldn’t have been made, but then 3 and 4 shouldn’t have been made either. This one is definitely better than 3 and 4, and I did enjoy the Arnie parts.

Lewis: Yeah, but it’s Arnie, you can’t not enjoy his parts.

arniesmile It was just very ‘meh’… the story was ok but it could’ve been done a little better, the script was pretty crappy, the acting was ok but they can only do so much with poor writing, and the special effects weren’t anything spectacular. The only bit that looked naff was the helicopter chase though, the other scenes were solid.

Ben: The writing wasn’t great, and I was a bit disappointed in Emilia Clark (given what she does week in week out on Game of Thrones). I expected a bit more, but yeah that could be down to the writing rather than the actors. However, Jai Courtney was his usual crappy self.

jai-courtney-in-terminator-genisys-movie-7 I have to say, the bus incident was much better in the context of the film than what we saw in the trailer, but yeah, the helicopter chase was a bit crap.

Lewis: Jai Courtney most definitely fell short of the mark. And yeah, that bus crash made a whole lot more sense than the trailer suggested… but then again, they revealed almost every major plot point in the trailer, so I guess it was tough to fit that context in.
I also had a slight issue with Jason Clarke… I think he’s a really good actor, and I usually have no issue with him, but he just wasn’t very believable as John Connor, you know? He just doesn’t really have the characteristics of a great military leader or badass hero.

terminator-genisys-trailer-jason-clarke-john-connor

Ben: The trailer did give pretty much everything away.
I can see your point about Clarke, but I didn’t really have that much of an issue with him, there were far too many other problems with the film, like how they ripped every good bit from 1 and 2 and warped it to serve their own means.

Lewis: There is a line where a homage becomes a rip-off, and this film did toe that line a few times. I did enjoy the premise though, and, to be honest, even though it wasn’t a great film it would’ve been a decent finish to such an overused franchise (especially with all the references to 1 and 2). But then they had to jump on the end-credit-scene bandwagon and tease a sequel…

Ben: I think if you can forget that it is a Terminator film and treat it as a standalone movie that has nothing to do with the far superior 1st and 2nd films you will enjoy it more. Treat it like a big stupid action film and you may enjoy it.
Yeah, the over-used end credit scene that is a tease for another crappy Terminator film. Why won’t they let the franchise die? Or give it back to the creator James Cameron, and see what he can do with it?

Lewis: You say give it back to James Cameron, but he fully endorsed this film! He’s not the director he once was, and as for treating it as a standalone film, I get where you’re coming from, but it’s impossible to ignore the fact that it’s part of the Terminator franchise. No matter what you do you’ll always compare it to its predecessors.

Ben: I think he owed Arnie a few favours.
Yeah that is a fair point, a Cameron Terminator could end up like the Stars Wars prequels…
That comparison will be the issue with every Sequel they make. The first two are (very different) perfect films, and the sequels will never be as good as the originals.

Lewis: I mean, if Cameron could pull off a stunt like George Miller did with Mad Max I’d be all for another sequel. Unfortunately, I don’t think that’s really possible anymore; it’s had its time.

Ben: Well there will be at least one more sequel for us to sit through. I mean ‘enjoy’…

Lewis: Yeah… ‘enjoy’.
The only highlight for me was Arnie. He’s literally become a parody of himself.

Ben: He was indeed, any scene without him just felt strange. Ahhh, old “pops”… he is just a walking, talking parody of his former self.

Lewis: I said it to you yesterday but I’ll say it again, he’s basically some guy who can do a really good impression of Arnold Schwarzenegger.
But we still love ‘im of course.

Ben: Good old Arnie, where would we be without him?

Lewis: Who would we have to do terrible impressions of?

Ben: Nick Cage?
We would be lost without him, but I don’t think he should make anymore Terminator films.

Lewis: I’ve never been able to do a decent Cage impression… Well, once, but never since.
To be honest, he’s probably said enough lines for them to just use that CGI model of him and create the lines from soundbites.

Ben: “Hypothetically”
See what I did there? Used Arnie’s new catch phase in a comment about him…

Lewis: Unfortunately, Ben, his new catchphrase is “theoretically”, not “hypothetically”…

Ben: Shit. We can edit that. Just shows how forgettable the film is….

Lewis: Why would we edit out such a brilliant cock-up?
One last thing I want to mention is a personal nitpick, but it’s one that bugs me quite a lot-
Grenades don’t look like that when they explode. There isn’t a massive, swirling fireball. Just a bang. Why don’t they get that?

Ben: I think that is the fault of all Hollywood. Not just this piss poor excuse for a Terminator film

Lewis: Yeah I know, but most of Hollywood has been getting better with realistic explosions, this was the worst example I’ve seen for a while.

Ben: *Sigh* They had to do something to keep people entertained. It was a bit Michael Bay-ish.

Lewis: I think we should stop before we start to change our minds on the quality of this film…
So the consensus is “not very good, but not as bad as it could’ve been”.

Ben: Yeah I’d go with that; not as bad as Terminator 3, marginally better than Terminator 4,

arniesmile

but nowhere near as fantastic as Terminator 1 and Terminator 2.

terminator-genisys-trailer-2-131043

3 thoughts on “Terminator Genisys: “Bite me”

  1. Hi! I love reading your posts! Btw, sorry to disturb you, I’m new to WP do you think you could check out my blog and leave a comment. I’d love some help from someone more experienced as you! Keep it up! 🙂

    Like

    • “Hi” yourself!
      Thanks for the comment, it’s very much appreciated. We just checked out your site and it’s bloody hilarious; you’ve found yourself a follower, my friend. As for us helping you, you’re doing pretty damn well already, and I’m not sure what we can do for you, but we’ll leave comments and likes as often as we can. We’d appreciate it if you could do the same for us.
      Thanks again. Lewis and Ben.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

