Star Wars: Battlefront

Standard

CombinedpicIt has been a big week for trailers, especially ones of the Star Wars variety. With two released during the Star Wars Celebration over the weekend, and being slightly obsessed, we decided to review them both. Here we take a look at the new trailer for Star Wars Battlefront as well as some reminiscing about Star Wars Battlefront and Battlefront 2. Enjoy.

star-wars-battlefront-star-wars-battlefront-new-hope-splitscreen-local-play

Lewis: Well, I was pretty damn impressed with the trailer for Battlefront.

Ben: Me too. A game I have been waiting a very long time for.

Lewis: I think every kid who ever played the originals has been waiting for this. From the trailer it looks very promising. I’ve looked up some details about the game itself, and, while I don’t agree with some of the moves they’ve made, I like a lot of what they’ve said.

Ben: I love the idea of a proper online mode. However, I agree, they’ve dropped the single player campaign, which was one of the highlights for me.

Lewis: Yeah, they’re definitely bringing it into the new era of online gaming, which I don’t really have a problem with. I just hope that they don’t make it too online orientated like Titanfall, a game that was a huge success initially, but people got quite bored of it. They’ve also removed space battles which I’m a little miffed about… But as long as you can still fly the fighters and bombers on the ground level, I’m cool with it.

canyon610

Ben: I forgot about that… I will miss the space battles. You said that the makers of Battlefield are doing it? Hopefully there will be a few more game modes. Command posts and capture the flag are fine, but occasionally I do like to go out with the aim to kill everyone.

Lewis: Apparently, while there isn’t going to be single player campaign, there will be numerous single-player/multiplayer missions available online and offline, which will be a nice alternative to having to play online multiplayer (because I hate people). I just hope they don’t mess with the dynamic of the original game too much.

Ben: I have a “if it ain’t broke don’t fix it” feeling towards it. By all means up-date it, but the first and, especially, the second game were iconic, everyone I knew played it all the time. Tt was such a big part of our childhood and I don’t want them to ruin it.

Lewis: I’m sure they’ll create a brilliant game within the Star Wars universe, but I don’t have high hopes for it living up to everyone’s nostalgic expectations… then again, Battlefront was essentially a Star Wars version of battlefield anyway, so who knows, it might be ok.

Ben: It will still be a solid game though, I am sure of it.

Lewis: I certainly hope so, otherwise a whole lot of people are gonna be upset…

So that is what we thought. What did you think? Comment below if you agree or disagree with us, or if you think we forgot anything.

And remember we are on Twitter, Facebook, YouTube and Mix Cloud.

Cheers

Ben and Lewis

Mix Cloud – https://www.mixcloud.com/TheMinimumEffort/

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/theminimumeffort

Twitter – https://twitter.com/

YouTube – https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC0uqIJd5NYxylnTkTcjzTAw

Leave a Reply

