“The force is strong in my family”

Standard

Combinedpic

Ben: “Chewie…we’re home.” What did you think?

han-solo-chewbacca

Lewis: Oh man, I’ve watched this trailer over and over, every time I’ve seen it advertised I’ve watched it, and I literally don’t have anything negative to say about it. I was blown away. How about you?

Ben: I thought it was fantastic, in fact, I would be happy if that was the full trailer. Nothing major was given away, just enough to make me incredibly excited. However, if you watch the trailers they made for the prequels they’re pretty good as well… good enough to make Attack of the Clones appear watchable.

Lewis: Hey, let’s not ruin our expectations by talking about those… I have to say, I think that opening shot (on what I assume is either Tatooine or that Jakku planet they’ve mentioned) is one of the most incredible pieces of film I’ve ever seen. I just loved how much it looked like A New Hope… even the background scenery looked like a huge, brilliantly detailed matt painting, which I absolutely love.

beautyincarnate

Ben: It is on Jakku, I don’t think Tatooine is in this one. I really liked the X-wing scene, it’s just one of the little things that show us that this film will take us back to what made us fall in love with the films in the first place. It will have the humour, action and story which 4, 5 and 6 had but which the prequels lacked.

Lewis: Yeah, it definitely looks like it has the charm of the original trilogy. I’m very interested in the Luke voiceover, and the scene where someone with a hood and robotic right hand is with R2. I think that’s Luke, but it looks like he’s either exiled somewhere or on a journey…

Ihaveit

Ben: I think it is Luke, I’ve read that he exiled himself following the conclusion of the Galactic Civil War. There are so many fantastic bits in the trailer, including the return of Anakin’s original blue lightsaber being handed from person to person, with the “my sister has it, you have it” voice over.mysisterhasit And the melted Darth Vader mask is a cool appearance too.

vadermask

Lewis: I watched Mark Hamill’s talk at Star Wars Celebration last weekend, and he said that for the voiceover they took the Return of the Jedi quote audio and put a new recording of his voice underneath it, giving it that weird echo. It was pretty cool to hear how they did that. Yeah, obviously someone has managed to retrieve that lightsaber from Bespin, and as for the helmet, I heard a theory that someone might be collecting artefacts from the Civil War, maybe the new villain, Kylo Ren?

kyloren

Ben: perhaps inspiring his own face mask.

Lewis: Yeah, bloody wannabe (Joking, I quite like his design). There are also a few changes to the design of the X-wings, they look more like the original concept art now.

ConceptX-Wingnewxwings

Ben: The most noticeable change is the Storm/Chrome/Pilot troopers. But then, they needed some new troops after being killed by the Ewoks…

newstorm

Lewis: I doubt there was a huge increase in recruits after that incident… The Empire logo is very different too, so maybe this is a new, rising Empire? Instead of remnants of the old one.

Ben: There are still quite a few unanswered questions. Why are they still using Storm troopers? Why was a TIE fighter shooting Stormtroopers inside the hanger? That is why it is such a brilliant trailer, there are so many things we are yet to find out about.

Lewis: Exactly, and there are so many different explanations you can give, but who knows what’s really going on? I just loved the look of it, it felt like Star Wars should feel. There wasn’t a complete saturation of CGI, the acting in the teaser alone was awesome, and I reckon that this film is going to be everything the prequels should’ve been

Ben: I agree. Probably one of the best trailers I have seen for a long time.

Lewis: Yeah, take note, that’s how you make a worthy trailer. Just before we finish, did you hear the details about ‘Rogue One’?

Ben: I haven’t no, do enlighten me.

Lewis: This is all they’ve said so far, “A band of resistance fighters unite for a daring mission to steal the Death Star plans in Star Wars anthology film, Rogue One”. They also showed a little teaser trailer which just had Alec Guinness’ quote “For over a thousand generations the Jedi Knights were the guardians of peace and justice in the Old Republic. Before the dark times. Before the Empire” being spoken while a TIE Fighter flew over a jungle planet with the Death Star looming over it in orbit.

Ben: It sounds interesting enough, an interesting choice for the first stand-alone film anyway.

Lewis: Yeah, it’ll be interesting to see what approach they take, I hope it’ll be like a WW2 commando film where they have to get behind enemy lines to blow something up, but instead they’ll be stealing the plans to the Death Star.

Ben: I can imagine that is the route they would take. I honestly would have thought a Boba Fett film would have been the first one out though.

Lewis: Yeah, I guess a Boba Fett film won’t be out for a few years yet.

Well that’s that. I hope you enjoyed this review/reaction piece of The Force Awakens’ second teaser, and I hope it was a least slightly informative and entertaining. Are you as excited for the film as we are? Or has the trailer left you feeling a little underwhelmed? (If so, do you not even have a soul?)

Let us know what you think down below.

Thanks for reading, Lewis and Ben.

Leave a Reply

