Detectorists

Standard

Benportrait1It has been a while since I have done one of these. I have wanted to review a lot of things that have been on tele recently, but with lab write ups, presentations to produce and other University nonsense, I have struggled for time.

Anyway, one evening I was casually browsing BBC iPlayer when I stumbled across a comedy on BBC 4 called ‘Detectorists’. It is about metal detectorists (not detectorers) from Gods own county, Essex. Yeah, I know what you are thinking, it doesn’t sound very entertaining does it? I thought the same, but in my boredom I decided to put it on anyway, and I am very pleased that I did.

It may seem a contradiction when I say that ‘Dectetorists’ is a heart-warming yet down beat comedy, and I don’t want to give too much away so I think if you watch it you will get what I mean. To be honest, it reminds me a lot of series 1 of‘The Mimic’ (minus the voices).  The two are very similar in following social outcasts as they find themselves in various situations. However, I think ‘The Detectorists’ is funnier than ‘The Mimic’.

The story is clever and the downbeat tone works very well, performed brilliantly by a top cast. There are some hysterical moments, which is something ‘The Mimic’ always lacked (I do feel a bit bad about comparing the two, but they are quite similar). The script also has its more reflective moments which enables brilliant character development and makes the show better episode by episode.

The standout performances come from the two leads, Toby Jones, (a man going through his own version of a “McConaissance”) who was in the recent BBC film ‘Marvellous’, (another thing I wanted to review but never got the chance to, but if you get the chance definitely watch it.) is absolutely fantastic as the best friend ‘Lance’. He manages to make a character who could become loathsome very quickly, very likable. Mackenzie Crook (the one-eyed pirate from ‘Pirates of the Caribbean’) is also very good as the wannabe archaeologist ‘Andy’. Crook, who wrote, directed and stared in this comedy, should be very proud of his creation, as it fully deserves its rating of 8.5 on IMBD.

The theme tune (for want of a better word) is also brilliant performed by Johnny Flynn (if you have seen ‘Scrotal Recall’ he is the blonde guy in that). Following the use of the app ‘Shazam’, I am currently listening to Flynn’s back catalogue on Spotify, something I can highly recommend if you like folk rock, and even if you don’t, give it a listen.

As I browsed the iPlayer again last night, I also found another BBC 4 comedy called ‘Puppy Love’, which also looks very good. Credit has to be given to BBC 4, as the channel appears to be branching out from its documentary roots. And when new shows like ‘Detectorists’ get air time it can only be a good thing for British television. Watch this space.

So I think that is it for now. It’s quite a short one this time round, but to sum it all up, watch ‘Detectoist’, and if you like the theme tune, listen to Johnny Flynn on Spotify.

Cheers, feel free to comment below.

 -Ben

Leave a Reply

