Flatline

Standard

So here we are, once again the piece is more than a week late. To be honest, I don’t know whether it’s worth apologising anymore, I think we’ve done more damage than we can fix. Please find it in your heart to forgive us, regular reader no.1.

Combinedpic

Lewis: Soooooo, the ‘Flatline’ episode! What did you think?

Ben: I wasn’t too sure about it to be honest; I can’t quite put my finger on why though. What did you think of it?

Lewis: I didn’t mind it, it wasn’t a really bad episode, but I get what you mean about not being able to put your finger on it. There was something about it that just wasn’t as good as it could be.

Ben: I think it might be because they are trying to empower Clara more and more, and as they do she just seems to get more unlikable as she swings from hating the Doctor to lying to Danny. It is just getting a bit irritating.

Lewis: She’s definitely in over her head at the moment, and if I were Danny I’d be getting pretty pissed off.
What did you think of the monsters in this one though?

Ben: I concur, and I thought the monsters were pretty solid. I initially thought they were ripping off the 2012 episode, but when they started dissecting the humans it was clear that it was pretty original. But, like the Robin Hood episode, I thought they were a bit underused. I think that it could have been a really good two-parter if the doctor was properly involved, which would’ve given the creatures more screen-time.

Lewis: Yeah, we didn’t really get a lot of explanation about them, we just got told that they were the bad guys and a brief explanation why, and then the Dr got rid of them within a minute of being out of the TARDIS.
I honestly thought the concept of 2D creatures was pretty cool.

Ben: There could have been a perfect cliff hanger ending when the doctor was talking to them. He finds out they’re bad guys rather than lost creatures from another dimension, and then roll end credits. That way we could’ve seen more of them, had more character development, give them a bit of a back story and all that stuff.

Lewis: Yeah, it did feel very rushed towards the end, but not very tense. I also thought it was very convenient that the TARDIS now has a siege mode…

Ben: Oh yeah, I forgot about that… as with a lot of episodes this series, this one had potential but, again, I don’t think it had its priorities right. I think it suffered again at the hands of the season-arcing story line.

uktv-doctor-who-s08-e09-flatline-9

Lewis: It definitely had the potential to be a good episode; it just didn’t quite reach it. Also, was it just me, or did Capaldi have a major haircut halfway through??

Ben: I can’t remember that to be honest, I’ll have to have another look.

Lewis: I’m pretty sure that for one scene in the TARDIS it was a lot shorter than the previous one, and then when they cut back to it, his hair was back to normal. It’s probably a weird camera angle or different styling of hair.

The review/slating of last weeks episode, ‘In the Forest of the Night’, will be out tomorrow. So be warned, you’ll be getting a double dose of our pessimism in rapid succession. To arm yourselves against this, I advise watching videos of old people being given puppies and kittens as presents. It’s sickeningly heart-warming.

Leave a Reply

