Listen

Standard

Combinedpic

Lewis: Well that was easily one of the best episode of Doctor Who in years. Right up until the point where the Doctor was knocked out. It started strong and creepy, but the ending just didn’t do it for me

Ben: My thoughts exactly, when I saw Moffat was writing it and how cool the advert looked I was expecting it to be a return to the glory days of the first weeping angels and the Vasta Narada (the one with the carnivorous shadows), but the ending didn’t live up to my expectations

Lewis: The first half of it was extremely creepy, and I was really excited about the fact that we finally got another scary episode, but the ‘none of it was real’ thing really pissed me off. I would’ve much preferred there to be creatures like the Doctor explained, but I also didn’t want to see them, that’s what made them so creepy. And even if you can’t remember a dream where something grasped your ankle, everyone has nightmares from time to time, and I couldn’t help but connect with the creepiness of this episode and the sheer terror the characters felt.

Listen

Ben: I think the idea behind it was to leave the viewer wondering and having to make their own mind up about the creatures, as it is never really explained. You see something but at the same time you see nothing, meaning the viewer has to imagine what could be under the bed. I think leaving a sort of cliff hanger ending as to whether something could be there would have been a suitable ending to the brilliant start.

Lewis: Yeah I got that, and I’m all about a bit of ambiguity, but the ending kinda spoiled the mystery and creepiness that was built up, which is a shame because it had so much potential. It was still a good episode though!

Ben: I completely agree, but I wouldn’t call it a good episode with an ending like that. I feel that the writers are trying to over humanise The Doctor and in doing so we end up with the endings we get which look like they have come from one of Aesop’s fables.

Lewis: Alright then, I’ll compromise, it was a good episode until the Doctor got knocked out

Ben: Yeah, can’t say I disagree with you there. And as you said it is a shame because the first 35 minutes took me back to the Moffat stories of old. One other thing, I’m not a big fan of Doctor Who romance, they aren’t written cleverly and they just tend to get shoved in my face. The budding relationship between Clara and Danny is unfortunately following that same trend.

Lewis: It was indeed a shame that it had to end that way. As for the romance, it’s definitely being dealt with a lot better than previous attempts, and to be honest I really like the character of Danny, so it doesn’t bother me as much as the previous ones. I can definitely understand your prejudice against them though. On the subject of next week’s episode, it doesn’t look that promising to be honest…

Ben: We had high expectations for this week. Maybe if we set the bar a little lower we will be pleasantly surprised.

Leave a Reply

