He Talks Like a Gentleman

Standard
self portraitYou know what, I kept putting this off today and I almost completely forgot to do it, but I promised you I would, so I will. Even though my mind is telling me to go and find something useless to do. Do you see my problem guys? My procrastination didn’t really help at school, and it still afflicts me to this day. I’m just too good at it… (Modest, I know)
Before we get into it, I’m gonna ask again if you can guess the album from the title? (Yes, I am doing this every time. And you will grow to love it, trust me)
So… Got it yet?
No?
Fine, my second album of the week is ‘Sam’s Town’ by the Killers. And the quote “he talks like a gentleman” is from one of their most famous and popular songs, ‘When You Were Young’.
Now, a lot of fans prefer their first album, ‘Hot Fuss’, to ‘Sam’s Town’, and I can see why. ‘Hot Fuss’ contains a string of big indie hits, such as ‘Mr Brightside’, ‘Somebody Told Me’ and ‘Smile Like You Mean It’. It’s a brilliant album. In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever not liked a song that the band have released. However, for some reason, I just love ‘Sam’s Town’ that much more. I feel like it’s a bit more raw and powerful than ‘Hot Fuss’.
The album’s supposed to have influences from big artists like Bruce Springsteen, Dire Straits, The Beatles, ELO (which are all pretty promising in my book) and also U2… Urgh. But that’s just my opinion. All those artists (except for U2) would be in my top played songs on iTunes, and maybe that’s one of the reasons why I love this album so much? It has pieces of all my favourite artists rolled into one album.
It’s arranged in the same manner as a musical, and this really helps turn it into a story when you listen to it (I really like musicals, which is something I don’t tell many people, so keep it quiet). The opening song (‘Sam’s Town‘) is as rousing and loud as any Broadway tune. And it definitely sets up the theme of the album, it’s all about Brandon Flower’s journey to that point in time. Then, after this pounding intro, the quiet piano of ‘Enterlude‘ interrupts. This song is essentially the main character of the story welcoming us to the show, “We hope you enjoy your stay”. And then the opening chords of ‘When You Were Young‘ get the journey started again.
It’s a rollercoaster ride of pain and happiness, big guitar-driven rock songs like ‘Bling (Confessions of a King)‘ and loud, powerful Broadway pieces like ‘Why Do I Keep Counting?‘. That’s probably why I’m such a big fan. I’m a sucker for powerful, emotional songs.
Anyway, I think I’ll end this one here since it’s getting late and I’m really tired today. I think I’ve explained my love of this album enough, and I seriously recommend that you listen to it. It was voted the #1 underrated album of the decade in 2010, after all.
-Lewis
Leave a Reply

