Yesterday’s Gone

Standard

self portraitI’ve decided to try and gain a little motivation for writing by forcing myself to do a week length series of daily posts, which will about my top seven things in a certain category. If this goes well I’ll probably do quite a few of these, using a different subject each time. Anyway, now the explanation is done, it’s time for the first piece.

This week, I’ve decided to write about my top seven albums at this moment in time. These are in no particular order, I’m just writing them in whatever order I feel like. And this Monday, my friends, I’ll be writing about a great album from a band that I only fully discovered a couple of years ago. Can you guess the album from the article title?

No?

Well fuck you, I didn’t want you to anyway.

Just kidding, I’m not that much of a dick. It’s from the song ‘Don’t Stop’, which of course means I am writing about the album ‘Rumours’, by Fleetwood Mac. As I’m sure you all know, ‘Rumours’ is one of the best selling albums of all time, and there’s a perfectly good reason why.

It’s simply brilliant.

Now, I don’t know how other people feel, but I’ve always thought that Fleetwood Mac have been underrated in modern times. The use of the outro from ‘The Chain‘ for the BBC’s Formula One coverage (you know the one, it goes “Bummmm, buh buh bum, buh buh bubba buh bummmmm”) definitely brought them back into the limelight for a while, and they even toured in 2013. But still, it seems like they’re passed over a lot, especially their lesser known songs. I don’t really understand this though…

‘Rumours’ is a torrent of different emotions and viewpoints of degrading relationships, all due to the troubled relationships of the two couples in the band and Mick Fleetwood’s marriage. John and Christine McVie had divorced after many years of marriage, while Lindsey Buckingham and Stevie Nicks had a stormy, on and off relationship. As well as this, Fleetwood discovered that his wife was having an affair with his best friend. These painful times for the band meant that emotions were at the surface for a lot of the writing and recording of ‘Rumours’, which gave the songs a raw and powerful quality. From the achingly bitter-sweet and guitar driven ‘Go Your Own Way‘ to the poignant and melodious ‘Songbird‘.

It’s all about the ending of relationships and friendships, and the beginning of new, better things. No song emphasises this message more than ‘Don’t Stop’, an optimistic piece that reminds the listener to not dwell on the past and to keep moving forward, “Yesterday’s gone”.

A lot of people tend to listen to this album but not really hear it (God that sounded douchey). But I’m serious, because if you listen closely to the lyrics and the powerful music, you can gain a whole lot more from the experience. The main three writers (Buckingham, Nicks and Christine McVie) are brilliant lyricists, and their songs have multiple layers of depth and meaning that I’m still only just picking up on now. As well as their superb lyrics, the harmonies on this album are absolutely amazing, with ‘Go Your Own Way’ and ‘The Chain’ standing out for me.

Anyway, to sum up, ‘Rumours’ is one of my favourite albums because it’s one of the most honest and relatable collections of music I’ve ever heard. Behind the slick, pop-rock, there is a lot of emotion, pain, and optimism, which almost anyone can relate to. You need to listen to it, now.

-Lewis

P.S. If you want to tell me that I’m writing a load of crap, or that you’re actually enjoying what you’re reading, please leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

