Fresher’s Week

Standard

Benportrait1Without a doubt, one of the things that most soon-to-be University Students look forward to is Fresher’s Week. The advertised excessive boozing and clubbing appeals to most people, and even I, a self-confessed pub man, was waiting with anticipation for fresher’s week this time last year. Freshers had always been advertised to me as the week where you will primarily get drunk, which did happen to be fair, but also where you would meet loads of new people. Don’t get me wrong, you do meet loads of people, but other than the people you live with, I can guarantee that you will remain in contact with none of them.

The days during freshers don’t half drag as well. I would honestly recommend you save a series of Game of Thrones or Breaking Bad specifically for freshers week to help pass the time. Or, alternatively, you can get absolutely hammered every night so you sleep through the days (if you can survive 3 days in a row of properly ‘getting on it’ as a fresher, you have my respect). And yes, they are that dull.

It wasn’t that I didn’t try. My bedroom door was always open. Some of my flat would pop in for a chat but you are just getting to know each other, so it can be a bit awkward at first. The more social members of the flat quickly present themselves. Although from my experience, some of my flat tended to stay in their bedroom. One of my flatmates went home for a week and the rest of didn’t even realise she had gone until she came back. You do get people like that, so try and make an effort with them, but I wouldn’t waste your time stressing over them.

As well as the nightlife, there are events put on during the day. The Fresher’s fair is a good one to go to, even if it’s just for the free pens. The sign up day for all the societies (in Southampton known as ‘The Bun Fight’) is worth a visit. Make sure that you at least go to the first session of whatever you sign up for, even if you only have a slight interest in it. Do not use ‘Freshers Flu’ as an excuse. Unless you physically cannot get yourself out of bed, you haven’t got ‘Freshers Flu’ bad enough to prevent you doing things. I didn’t go to some and, to be honest, I do regret it now. Other than that there really isn’t that much to do. Netflix’s free one month trial is definitely worth utilising.

There are induction sessions you have to go to, but they really don’t matter. The lecturers will not care if you turn up battered; they expect it during Fresher’s. Just don’t do what I did and waste a night playing cards with a flat mate. We both regretted it the next day following the pointless talks we sat through.

Well, this is the end of my cynical look at freshers. I hope that, if you read it, you have learnt something from my mistakes. I also hope this has lowered your expectations slightly and as a result you might enjoy Fresher’s more. See, I care really. Stay safe and enjoy yourselves, you crazy kids.

– Ben

Leave a Reply

